The St. Ignaz Erbstollen in Predoi is one of South Tyrol’s mining museums. Visitors enter the tunnel on a pit train.
The Mining Museum in Predoi gives a fascinating insight into the unique world of mining. The visitors, who all wear yellow coats and helmets, enter the mountain on a pit train and enjoy an exciting tour through the history of copper mining in Predoi. In the inside of the museum a 250 m long and a 80 m long tunnel can be visited.
The visitors learn a lot about the history of mining in South Tyrol: copper was mined in Predoi since about 1400. It is a very elastic metal and was therefore mainly used in the wire production. Moreover, the museum shows the difficult working conditions in the mine and tells about the hard life of the miners who had to work there.
The copper of Predoi was considered one of the best in Europe and mainly exported into other countries. The administrative centre of the mine was Cadipietra, where today the “Grain Store“ museum can be visited. It is the partner museum of the Mining Museum in Predoi and exhibits the collection of the Enzenberg family. A hamlet of the municipality of Cadipietra hosted a so-called mountain court, where disputes between miners and farmer were resolved. After 500 years the Predoi mine finally closed down in 1893, when it was in the hands of the Enzenberg family. It was reopened for a short period of time in 1957 and finally closed again in 1971.
The mine also contains a climate tunnel, where respiratory diseases are alleviated thanks to a very special micro-climate virtually free of allergens and dust.
The Mining Museum in Predoi is the ideal destination for a family excursion: not only the children will be amazed when they enter the mine on a pit train…